A New Walk for Me

Hello again!

So recently I re-started my walk with Christ and started going to church again.

Garrett’s mom has gone to the same church for years (the one we got married in), and I wasn’t interested in going for the longest time, but one day something in me changed, and I wanted to go. So I started to go with her, and even got Garrett to come with!

I love Bart, the minister we have at church, and I learn something every week from him. I really appreciate that the sermons make sense to me and I’m not intimidated by the word of God. I bought myself a new bible (I had one but it got lost in the many moves I’ve made over the years) and did some research into whether I was baptized or christened as a baby.

I found out I was baptized as a baby, so I asked to join the church and place my membership there. Once I did that, I had a meeting with Bart as he likes to make sure that people know that there’s more to being a church member than just showing up on Sunday mornings. One of his sermons was so on point for me at this time as he discussed the mission of our church: Love God. Grow in Jesus. Serve the World. Now for a newbie for me, this list made sense in words, but I wasn’t sure how to accomplish this in act. Fortunately for me his sermon gave me a list of ways to Grow in Jesus: 1. Read your bible. 2. Regularly attend Church. 3. Find a community group. 4. Get baptized. 5. Give. 6. Share Christ. 7. Serve.

Hooray for me for being a part of a church where our minister seems to know what to say so that I understand what I can do. So I’m working my way through this list. I read my bible (starting in the New Testament has made a HUGE difference for me), and I go to church every weekend (I actually look forward to it. What a difference from me being a kid!) but I wasn’t sure about the community group part. But Bart told me about some of the classes that our church offers, and I’ve found a Sunday School group that I enjoy and appreciate. I’ve also started helping out with the children’s ministry. I’ve helped teach the preschool class for the past few Sunday’s and starting later this month, I get to teach the preschool class on Wednesday nights, as my own class! So its very exciting to get to spend time with kids and help them learn about God’s love as I am.

Next on the list was baptism. Bart and the church feel that baby baptism where you get sprinkled with water doesn’t fulfill the bible, so this past weekend I got baptized at church. I did it this past weekend, right before my 30th birthday so that I could enter a new era of my life as a new version of myself.

Here’s me right before, with Bart:

dsc01364

And here’s me right after:

dsc01366

I’ve got video, but can’t put it here without paying for the premium service, so I’ll figure out how to get those up too.

So besides giving (which is hard to do when you’re not working, but plan to do as soon as we have money to give) and doing my best to Share Christ with those around me, I feel like I’m doing alright with this list. I’m trying to be a better person every day, and am trying to live with this verse in mind:

Clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience… And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity. ~Colossians 3:12,14

I heard this verse in one of the first sermons when I started to go to church, and I just love it. It makes so much sense, and is simple but powerful and I’m doing my best to live up to it and be a better person and react in a better way towards others.

That’s all for now 🙂

~N

2 thoughts on “A New Walk for Me

  1. Caroljoy Spensley, Nicole's godmother says:

    Thanks for sharing your story Nicole. We have prayed for you since you were a baby, and are so excited to see what God is doing in and through you. Live you so much.

  2. Arlene Van Gelderen says:

    Nicole, I am so thankful for this answer to prayer and I am excited to see what God has in store for you in your service to Him.

    Much love,
    Gram VG

Leave a Reply

jomortonquilts.com/

In an effort to preserve our ties to the past

Have a Coke-r and a Smile...

Just another WordPress.com site

The Fiction Lane

Read. Write. Nerd. Repeat.

Dinosaur Superhero Mommy

wife to a big kid, mom to wild dino, loving our family of threey of three

go mama o

balancing kids, life and work on the go

Disneyland in Kentucky

Starring Garrett, Nicole and the rest of the cast

Musings of a Warrior Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

